Facebook Scam Alert

#onlinesafety #emailscam #Facebookscam.

Ok Guys, so this morning a received and email supposedly from Facebook, but as you will see when I upload an image of the email that it's not from Facebook and is obviously a phishing attempt as I was asked to upload personal documents.

I Must admit I was almost fooled (this is hard to do usually) as the email had the Facebook Logo and main address on, had it been sent to my personal email address that I use for Facebook and not my work email address the outcome could have been alot different. I'm a little pissed off with Facebook as they have no form of contact to report this kind of stuff so I made a post on my Facebook page to warn all my friends and family.

The contents of the email were as follows:

"Action Required Due to recent security incident, numerous accounts became vulnerable to that threat. Even after the fix was applied to it before any harm could be done, a further verification serves as a guarantee of account security.

We require you to verify your I.D. using any of the documents issued by your government through which you can claim your account later as well as your identity can be verified.

Upload Now

If you fail to perform I.D. verification, your access will be disabled for security concerns.

Facebook uses up to mark security standard to protect its user to all potential online threats.

Facebook, Inc., Attention: Community Support, 1 Facebook Way, Menlo Park, CA 94025

To help keep your account secure, please don't forward this email. Learn more."

Check out the email address for a start this is not a uniform Facebook email address and in fact belong to a company based in Java
Image of Fake email supposedly from Facebook

As You can see from the image of the email I uploaded the email address that sent this is not a uniform Facebook email address but in fact from a company in Java that has a dodgy website and not much useful information. I also notice that the Facebook address supplied is for american users not UK or European users the address on official Facebook emails that I received is always: Facebook Ireland Ltd., Attention: Community Operations, 4 Grand Canal Square, Dublin 2, Ireland not: Facebook, Inc., Attention: Community Support, 1 Facebook Way, Menlo Park, CA 94025. In fact this address is wrong too because believe it or not Facbook's head office in the US is 1 Hacker Way (I shit you not https://www.google.com/maps/place/1+Hacker+Way,+Menlo+Park,+CA+94025,+USA/@37.4844827,-122.152287,16z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x808fbc971ec26a97:0xf8925f044bbaef09!8m2!3d37.485134!4d-122.1483749 ) but there is no such street called Facebook Way (Yet!).

So people please share this with everyone you know to protect them from phishing scams and hacking attempts. And to all the Douche Bag hackers out there Fuck you, go and get a real job and leave honest working people and business alone and do some fucking research, you almost had me this time but your not good enough.

If you know of any sort of scams locally that could affect the people of Derby and Derbyshire and want to make them aware please email me at lisa@thederbeian.com and I will do my best to protect the community. You can report suspected scams to the police using the 101 phone number or emailing https://www.actionfraud.police.uk/

Stay safe and vigilant guys.

Lisa V

2,276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All